Short Reviews: PlayRadioPlay, Panic At The Disco, 21…

31Mar08

I rarely do these because I don’t go to the movies much, nor do I think you care what I think about music.
But for some reason I feel compelled to do one today.

TexasPLAYRADIOPLAY :: Texas :: (B-)
Texas is the long awaited full-length release from Dan Hunter as PlayRadioPlay. I was pleasantly surprised by this album. It showed some grow musically and maturity lyrically. There are still some youthful, high school specific songs on there, but it was enjoyable to listen to. He has a bright future ahead of him. I’m starting to sense more of a Death Cab for Cutie feel in his writing. Look at “Loco Commotion”, “See You Soon”, and “Corner Office Bedroom”. Definitely buy this from iTunes if you are at all a fan of electronic pop.

PrettyoddPANIC AT THE DISCO :: Pretty. Odd. :: (C+)
The sophomore effort from the boys of Panic at the Disco has dropped more than the exclamation point. My jaw was on the floor. This wasn’t at all what I was expecting, and I can’t tell if that’s a good or bad thing. I loved the clever mix of “crazy emo-kid” music and theatrical storytelling in their first album. I pre-ordered the new one to get the early single download — “Nine in the Afternoon”. It is reminiscent of their previous album…and probably my favorite track so far. It feels as if they tried to hard to establish themselves as more than just your average “emo-kid” band. They tried to take the same road as The Killers and didn’t quite make it there.

There are some good tracks though…and the jury is still out on this one. But for now, check out “Nine in the Afternoon”, “Mad As Rabbits”, “That Green Gentleman”, “You Know What I’m Seeing?”.

21Movie21 :: Robert Luketic (Director) :: (B+)
A pleasant surprise! I’ll start by saying that I was a bit skeptical. It looked like it had the potential to be a bit “teeny” and gimmicky. But I do love heist/fraud movies, so I’ll give it a shot. It was funny. It had some good action. It had a clever ending. It was an all around enjoyable movie. A great one for a date night. The love story seemed a bit forced…but doesn’t it always? Go see this movie. It’ll be fun!

2 Responses to “Short Reviews: PlayRadioPlay, Panic At The Disco, 21…”

  1. We saw the Bank Job this weekend. Also a good heist movie.

  2. Thank you for another awesome post. Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

